What a Beautiful Day!

Standard

I know this is a redundant post to my last one, but I feel so overwhelmed by emotions about it, that I feel like I have more to express.

Our “baby” Paige was baptized and confirmed a member of the church on Saturday May 4th. It was a gorgeous day and attended by several friends and family. She was so excited and her Grandma Bird made her a special white dress just for the occasion.

He Grandpa Bird baptized and confirmed her and it was a very special moment for all of us. I was at the top of the steps of the font to help her out and the look on her face was priceless. It was all screwed up and she just stared at me. I think the “dunk” was a surprise for her even though earlier this year at the Baptism fireside they let her do a “dry” run to go through the motions.

I’d like to say a special thank you to the missionaries for taking the time to give our family the baptism discussions and to help Paige further prepare for the event. It was wonderful to have them in attendance as well. Even though I grew up in the church, the discussions were great for me because it reviewed and taught me things I either didn’t know or have just put in the back of my mind over the years.

After we finished at the church, everyone came back to the house to enjoy pulled brisket sandwiches that Steve had made. He’s such a great cook! We enjoyed them so much that we made more for lunch after church the next day. Along with his fabulous potato salad that he just pulls out of his head every time he makes it.

We are so blessed to have the knowledge that belonging to this church gives us. The beauty of knowing that as long as we live righteously and do our best we can live together for eternity. Even though we live in difficult times where temptation is everywhere and in some cases have become acceptable in society, we have great leaders and resources to assist us in making the right choices and live happy lives.

My heart is overflowing with gratitude for everything we have. Everything from the comfort of having the Holy Ghost to help guide me to air freshener for those moments when breathing through your mouth to get through the smell just isn’t enough. We are so lucky to have a family that because Steve and I were sealed in the temple have taken one of the essential steps to live together eternally. Although I’m definitely not the poster child for the church, I do my best and try to live as an example to my children to do what is right and be happy. To show them that they are loved and that they can always come to me if they need anything or ask their Heavenly Father for help or comfort.

The past year has been difficult for me as I slowly recover from my experience with Guillam Barre Syndrome and even though I know it could take years to completely recover, I believe that the blessings, family fasts and prayers from friends and family have made a difference in my progress. I am so grateful for that and I thank everyone that has held me in their thoughts and prayers.

I hope that whatever you believe that you find comfort in your lives and happiness at every turn.

Leave a comment